NLA Honours Sadie Morgan as New Londoner of the Year - 05-07-2017


New London Architecture (NLA) has awarded Sadie Morgan ‘New Londoner of the Year’. The accolade acknowledges her work in championing design at the highest political level.

Alongside reporting directly to the Secretary of State as Chair of the Independent Design Panel for High Speed Two, she is also a commissioner for both the National Infrastructure Commission led by former Cabinet Minister Lord Adonis, and the Thames Estuary 2050 Growth Commission.

Peter Murray, chairman of New London Architecture said: “Architects, and built environment professionals generally, have not been very good in recent years in helping to set the political agenda. Sadie Morgan is an exception. She has key advisory roles addressing important environmental issues of the day. dRMM were the very first winners of the Pipers Next Generation Award in 2003, and under Sadie’s leadership, have gone on to deliver with the steadfast belief in the importance of design that connects back to people and place.”

The NLA Awards are supported by the Mayor of London and highlight the very best contributors to architecture, planning and development in the capital. Sadie made a promise to her sister to be elsewhere and regretfully could not attend the awards ceremony held on July 5 at the Guildhall.

Sadie’s acceptance speech can be viewed here.

“As a creative industry one thing that we’re incredibly good at is thinking about the future because we’re innovative and we come at things laterally. Design isn’t just about aesthetics, it’s about problem solving, and those are the kinds of people that you need really early on in the process, be it policy-making, be it building.

If you integrate design early on it doesn’t cost money, it saves money because it helps you anticipate not only the problems but the opportunities. If we can learn to take risks, we can learn to put our head above the parapet, then we will start to reimagine our built environment which is I think one of the most extraordinary opportunities that we have.”

Past winners of the NLA New Londoner of the Year Award have included Tony Pidgley, Dame Zaha Hadid, Lord Richard Rogers, Irvine Sellar and Sir David Higgins.

For more on the awards, see the NLA website: